Welcome to the new Policy Committees page of the AIA Washington Council website!!

Under the reorganization the AIA Washington Council has been undergoing over the past three years the Policy Committees are where much of the advocacy action happens.  If you want to be involved in advocating for the architectural profession and the environment at large this is where you get started!

For the 2017 legislative session, the AIA Washington Council Board has authorized the following policy committees.  If you are interested in participating in any of these committees please contact the committee Chair, and copy Jeffrey Hamlett, Executive Director at hamlett@aiawa.org.  You are welcome to join more than one committee.

Livability and Affordability Policy Committee

The Livability & Affordability Committee will cover issues relating to affordable housing, planning, the GMA, and other related issues.

Chair: Geoff Anderson, AIA: GAnderson@INNOVAArchitects.com

Tax & Capital Budget Policy Committee

The Tax Policy Committee will address all forms of taxation and funding of the capital budget.

Chair:  Lois Wardell, AIA: loisw@wardellarchitects.com

Alternative Project Delivery Policy Committee

The Alternative Project Delivery Committee will address all forms of project delivery including design-bid-build, but most of the activity is in alternative project.  Public Private Partnerships (“P3”) and Design/Build are the big issues at this time.

Chair:  George Shaw, FAIA:  gshaw@lmnarchitects.com

Practice Policy Committee

The Practice Committee will cover issues affecting the practice of architecture such as contracts and our state Practice Act.  Protection of QBS will fall under this committee.   Many of the issues of this committee may not require legislative action.  Members of the committee will need to work with the State Board of Architects on crafting a legislative fix to our Practice Act to address recent NCARB and other desired changes.

Chair:  Mike Slater, AIA:  mike.slater@mcgranahan.com

Carbon Policy Committee

The Carbon Policy Committee will take on the big picture of climate change and carbon pricing.

Chair:  Peggy Heim, AIA:  peggyh54@gmail.com

Codes Policy Committee

The Codes Committee will address issues specifically pertaining to the building and energy codes but other codes as well.  Much of the activity of this committee will be monitoring the actions of the State Building Codes Council (“SBBC”) as well as advocating on behalf of the SBBC before the legislature.

Chair:   Rosa Folla, AIA:  rosa@arkedesignstudio.com

Education Policy Committee

The Education Committee will address all legislative issues dealing with education facilities and funding – K-12 and higher ed.

Chair:  Stephen Black, AIA:  stephen.black@mcgranahan.com