AIA Elevates 7 Washington Architects to Fellow

98 New Fellows Announced for 2024

Douglas Ito

SMR Architects

Douglas is the recipient of the prestigious Whitney M. Young Jr. Award for 2024. Read more about Douglas here.

Ann Marie Borys

University of Washington Department of Architecture

Through teaching, scholarship, academic administration, and service, Ann Marie Borys orients students towards ethical practice by integrating history, theory, design, and professional values within a pedagogy of social engagement, action research, and critical inquiry.

J. Todd Scott

King County Historic Preservation Office

By leveraging historic resources and community engagement for revitalization, leading preservation organizations, and educating others, J. Todd Scott has empowered diverse communities to revitalize their architectural and cultural heritage for the benefit of future generations.

Jim Hanford

The Miller Hull Partnership, LLP

Leading the sustainable design process for the country’s most influential projects, Jim Hanford actualizes Miller Hull’s ethos, standardizing high-performance within its practice, and awakening the architectural community to a new standard of building.

John Shoesmith

Shoesmith Cox Architects

John Shoesmith elevates the standard in design for aging and memory care environments. His award-winning design, knowledge sharing, advocacy, and influence in regulatory change improves lives and inspires others in the profession.

Kathrina Simonen

University of Washington / Carbon Leadership Forum

Carbon activist Kate Simonen has crystallized the embodied carbon movement with cutting-edge research, incubation of new approaches and cross-sector collaboration, equipping architects with the data, policies and social infrastructure to successfully harness carbon-smart material solutions.

Robert Misel

The Miller Hull Partnership, LLP

Rob Misel’s approach to firm and project leadership creates an environment of inclusivity, transparency and accountability. His commitment prioritizes equity with sustainable design excellence, fostering necessary diversity and engagement within projects, communities, and the profession.

All 98 new fellows will be honored at the AIA Awards Gala, June 7, 2024, at the National Building Museum in Washington D.C. Learn more about fellowship on AIA’s website.